Butt Kicking Life

These last few months life has been in a butt kicking mood! In March I rather suddenly quit my job, what can I say I was miserable, I have now started two new jobs, one part time baking for a local shop, and the other full time in a beautiful hotel downtown. Funny enough I feel so much less stressed than I did having only my previous full time position. I like the creative outlet of the baking job and working in a hotel feels like home to me. An added bonus is that since my job is downtown and parking sucks, it forces me to walk about 15 minutes back and forth to the hotel which is the beginning of what could be considered daily exercise?

I also took a rather impromptu trip to Chicago for the T-man’s brother’s graduation. I LOVE CHICAGO, so much more than New York City! Although the weather was warm and muggy for a few days we did manage to go downtown to the aquarium and to the zoo. I also pigged out on all of my Chicago favorites; stuffed deep dish pizza, Italian beef combos with cheese fries, Chicago dogs, and gyros (still not sure how that is pronounced??) All in all it was a great trip, and a fun little vacation.

After returning it was back to the craziness that comes with having two jobs, working a lot, and somehow trying to get a handle on housework, and just generally adjusting to a new schedule. I have been reading a ton! much to the annoyance of the T-man (I seem to have inherited my Father’s skill of tuning out the world when I read) The local thrift store was having a BOGO sale on books, so along with my friend we perused the titles while she stacked must reads into my arms I picked up about 10 new books ( I am slowly working up to my own personal library). Can I just say there is nothing that I enjoy so much more reading an actual book than reading one off from our tablet; you  just can’t beat turning the corner down to keep your place! I have read Memoirs of a Geisha (recommended by my friend) and LOVED IT, then I picked up a copy of Anne of Green Gables because I remember the movie as a kid. So many great titles so little free time!

There has been a bitter sweet new addition to my family. Sadly my beta fish Sebastian died (I may not have the best skills for tank maintenance). So I now have a new fish and new resolve to improve my beta caring skills. https://mail-attachment.googleusercontent.com/attachment/u/0/?ui=2&ik=8f333b38f6&view=att&th=13f86ca30a1e5d35&attid=0.1&disp=inline&safe=1&zw&saduie=AG9B_P9j8WKyjju1WbuUFRruaFsl&sadet=1372357141835&sads=L0Hz6L2Vc3OA2JNzurgYAB4axiM

Meet Fuego Peacock! I get it’s a weird name but its a hybrid of a suggestions from my friend Weez and the T-man. Weez suggested Fuego, which means Fire in Spanish which I loved because it suits him and for my hotel job I am working on improving my non-existent Spanish. The Peacock was the T-man’s suggestion strange but also fitting.

Did I also mention that I let my friends talk me into signing up for a 10K in September! It may not seem like that much, but to someone who is in sad need of exercise I know with out preparation it will kick my butt! So July 1st i am faced with the necessary evil of committing to training for this. I would be lying if I said that I was looking forward to it, hopefully my attitude improves.

Well about now I feel like I have a better handle on the work schedule and am making it work for us, I am looking to achieve that elusive life-work-balance (does it even really exist? I ‘m thinking its more of a Bigfoot or lochness monster type of thing). So I am in desperate need of some projects, I decided to order the next two months Cook the Books cook books off from Amazon, and have been perusing pinterest for some craft ides. I also am flipping through my preserving book to search for my next pickling project.

Any suggestions on some projects?? I need something to keep busy!!! (HA)

Leave a Reply

